Sunday, July 1, 2012

The Kate Challis RAKA Award ($25,000 prize money | for Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Playwrights | Australia)

Post date: Sunday, July 1, 2012
Deadline: 2 July 2012

This award for indigenous creative artists has been made available through the generosity of Professor Emeritus Bernard Smith, eminent art and cultural historian. The prize was established to honour the memory of his late wife, Kate Challis, who was known in her youth as Ruth Adeney (RAKA is an acronym for the Ruth Adeney Koori Award). In the Pintupi language RAKA means 'five' and in the Warlpiri RDAKA means 'hand', and both meanings are particularly apt for a prize to be awarded in a cycle of five years to individual artists - novelists, poets, musicians, painters and playwrights - whose 'hands' are the basic means of creativity.

The $25,000 award is offered in a five-year cycle with a different area of the arts - creative prose, drama, the visual arts, scriptwriting and poetry - being rewarded each year.

Previous winners in the creative-prose category have been Vivien Cleven, jointly for Bitin' Back and Her Sister's Eye, Kim Scott for Benang, Mudrooroo, for Us Mob, and Bill Rosser, for Up Rode the Troopers: The Black Police in Queensland.

Applications are invited for the 2012 Kate Challis (RAKA) Award for indigenous playwrights


1. The playwright must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander.

2. The prize is to be awarded to a writer for a specific stage play.

3. The play must have been performed commercially between January 2007 and January 2012.


1. Five copies of the entire application should be submitted (please note electronic applications will not be accepted).

2. Applicants or agents/nominators are required to submit a full statement of up to one page on their current practice and its development over the past five years.

3. Applicants or agents/nominators are required to submit a curriculum vitae of up to one page.

4. Applications should be sent to the Awards Coordinator, The Australian Centre, The
University of Melbourne, Victoria, 3010.

5. Please note application material will not be returned.

6. Entries close on Monday, 2 July 2012.

7. The total prize money will be $25,000.


1. The winner will be announced and the award presented at a public event to be held in late August 2012.

2. Unsuccessful entrants will be notified.

3. The decision of the Judging Committee is final.


For queries: direct enquiries to the Awards Coordinator at the Australian Centre (

For submissions: Awards Coordinator, The Australian Centre, The
University of Melbourne, Victoria, 3010